Unfortunately, there are millions of people living with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder all around the world. I do have many friends who have OCD, however, for some reason, talking about it is still a kind of taboo – I could never understand why, but people are not comfortable with talking about Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. I’d like to share with you the list of thoughts and irrational fears that myself and my friends had/ have. This list may be funny or ununderstandable for someone who does not have this horrible disease, but I hope it helps those who have OCD – when the whole terror (because that’s how I call it) started, it also helped me to read about other people’s fears, so that I could see that I am not the only one having such thoughts and that it is not the end of the world (even if it’s horribly disturbing).
So, here is the list (please do not hesitate to comment on the post, if there’s anything you think I could add.)
– What if I forget speaking?
– What if I forget speaking English?
– What if I forget writing?
– What if I choke because I did not chew my food enough?
– What if I harm my loved ones?
– What if I accidentally commit a crime?
– Did I close the door?
– Did I turn off the stove?
– Being afraid of fainting in public
– Being afraid of catching a disease
And finally, a thought that maybe all people with OCD have: if others knew that I am thinking about all this, they’d surely think that I am out of my mind, and I’d end up in a mental hospital. I’d not like to give any advice about handling these thoughts as I have problems handling them myself – but I do think that discussing about them and learning more about OCD will help us overcome it in the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

